Alright, we’ve been iced inside the house for 5 days now and we’re all at varying degrees of asldjf;asl. Luckily, being a stay at home mom, I’ve built up a considerable amount of tolerance for indoor days. Also luckily, Matt’s fantasy football team has been doing really good today so, in this moment, he’s flying high enough that he may even be under the delusion that we’re on a beach in Mexico.

Harper whisk fencing

Harper whisk fencing

When we opened up today’s Advent card, I was a little annoyed as I realized what I had chosen for today’s activity because I knew it’d be a lot of work and also somewhat testing of my patience…I wasn’t sure that, in our heightened state of irritability, we could make it through. However, it’s done and we’re all still alive and intact. Actually, as a result of me getting myself mentally geared up to bake bread (our activity), I ended up being more productive all-around today. Take that, cold weather.

Day 8: Jesus is the Bread of Life

Read: John 6.25-40
Talk About: What does bread do for your body?
                         What is your soul?
                         What does the Bread of Life (Jesus) do for your soul?
Activity: Make bread.
Ready to bake! And, yes, I have loaf pans...we baked on a sheet intentionally.

Ready to bake! And, yes, I have loaf pans…we baked on a sheet intentionally.

Harper helped me make a really easy, kid-friendly quick bread which turned out rather tasty, despite it’s humble appearance.

I think she likes it.

I think she likes it.

Aaaaaaand, since I already had all the supplies out; aaaaand since I was out of my “own” bread; aaaaaaand since the first round of bread had put me in a baking mood, I made another bread recipe. I guess I’m a little bit of a diva for having my “own” bread, but I’m not eating processed wheat anymore because I’m trying to regulate my thyroid naturally.  That’s another story for another post. Believe me, it was a SAD DAY when I read an article which said that eliminating processed wheat might do the trick. At any rate, I sent Harper along her merry way (Lord knows I only have the patience for ONE round of bread-baking with my three year old – I’m no saint for crying out loud) and made this gluten-free honey oat bread that is quite good. Check it out if you’re into not eating processed wheat and need a good bread recipe!

