This girl was getting after her blackberries last night, as you can see from her purple-stained face. But don’t let that sweet little smile fool you!

She likes blackberries. And eating in general.

She likes blackberries. Well, and eating in general.

Cortland is so spicy lately. If you’ve spent any time around Cortland, you know her face is rather expressive. When she was really small, she mostly showed us happy, smiley faces. Now that she’s older, she has added several more faces to her arsenal, and a big chunk of them are meant to display displeasure.

Offended face Cortland

Offended face Cortland

And the things she tries to get away with! Examples:

She looks me in the eye and bites me as I’m feeding her (if you know what I mean), watching my face and waiting for the inevitable “OUCH!”. Then she’ll furrow her brow and duck-face her lips, whining at me like she’s offended that I reacted to her heartless chomp. I have to stroke her cheek and comfort her to get her to go back to eating. Yesterday, while we were at a store, she kept angry screaming. Not crying-screaming. Super high-pitched shrieks to broadcast to fellow shoppers that her mean mom wasn’t letting her chew on the cardboard box of an item we weren’t buying. You should hear how many times a day, “No, mam!” is said in her direction (and often followed up by Harper piping in, “See, Mom? I told ya Tortland was a naughty baby!”).

Maybe I’m passing spicy on through the milk because I’m definitely more reactive and irritable after my second child than I was after Harper (who was the most chill baby E.V.E.R.). Cortland has been sleeping through the night since her second month, but the last two weeks she’s been waking up between 3am and 4am. I’m thinking (hoping) she’s cutting teeth or growth-spurting…something that will come and go quickly. Anyway, I am cranky (terribly cranky) when I haven’t had enough sleep. I went to bed last night at 10:30 and C woke up at 11:30. So I fed her. And then Harper woke me up at 2:30am to help her in the bathroom. And then, right on schedule, C woke up again at 4:00. I pitched such a fit when I heard her at 4am. First, I let her cry for about 20 minutes before getting afraid that she’d wake H. When I decided to finally go get her, I scooped up the blankets off my lap and threw them back down on the bed with an exasperated, “humph!”. I stomped so angrily out of the room that Matt actually got up in a hurry to slow me down and monitor me. I brought the baby back to our bed, where she proceeded to bite me THREE times without remorse. Sheeeeeeeshhhh.

Upside-down Cortland

Upside-down Cortland

And then she’s as much sweet as she is sour and I forgive all her antics. She’s a wild one, though. An envelope pusher, if you will. It is obvious she knows when she’s about to do something she knows she shouldn’t; she does it anyway. While looking me in the eye. Lord, have mercy. The flip side of her expressiveness is that she’s so spirited and happy most of the time. She’s the most friendly, “conversational” baby I’ve ever seen. And she gives hugs on purpose…out of love. As in, she’ll give me a big, thankful hug when I rescue her from her bed. Or she’ll give Matt a big squeeze with a gappy-toothed grin when he gets home from work. She howls laughing at all of Harper’s jokes and funny faces in the backseat. Awh, and look at those sweet, soft curls. Sugar and spice, that one.

Curly Cue Cortland

Curly Cue Cortland

